Shura Council Membership

This dataset covers the details of the Shura Council membership in the Sultanate of Oman.

Dataset Description

SourceWe have used a combination of sources to develop this dataset such as the data published by the Shura Council,, and Al-Watan.
Time period covered1991-2023.
Frequency of updateEvery four years.


First Name ARThe first name of the member in Arabic.
Last Name ARThe last name of the member in Arabic.
First Name ENThe first name of the member in English.
Last Name ENThe last name of the member in English.
SexThe sex of the member as male (M) or female (F).
WilayatThe name of the wilayat of the member in English.
Session DateThe session for which the member was elected in the format YYYY-YYYY.
Session NumberThe official session number.



The parliament in Oman is the Council of Oman (Majlis Oman) and is made up of two houses: The State Council (Majlis Oman), which is an appointed body, and the Shura Council (Majlis Al-Shura), which is an elected body. The term of the State Council and the Shura Council is four years. This dataset includes only the details of the members of the Shura Council.

Data on elections in Oman is usually published on a temporary basis on while elections are ongoing. This website is used to manage elections for the Shura Council as well as municipality councils.

We should highlight that certain members of the Shura Council have served for a term less than four years. This is because of their removal as a result of death or appointment to an official government post.